The AUN African Center for ICT Innovations & Training (ACIT) has ended a one-week Cisco Networking instructor training. The program, which started on September 26, is sponsored through a grant from Cisco Systems.

The grant is meant to cover 20 tertiary institutions in northeast Nigeria.

The Atiku Center Director, Monitoring & Evaluation, Mrs. Liliane AyukTabe, who declared the workshop open, said a survey showed that Northeast Nigeria is lagging behind in terms of basic IT skills, and the intervention fund from Cisco Systems is a train-the-trainer program so that the region will catch up with others. The Director urged them to share the knowledge they gained from the training with others around them–students, colleagues, and friends. “Whatever you learn, don’t keep it to yourself.”

Manager of the Center, Priscilla Abdul, said that through the CISCO intervention, ACIT will help establish Cisco Academies in the 20 institutions earmarked for the grant. The ICT staff members of these institutions were invited for the training.

“The goal is to help the trainees become instructors to be able to teach these courses in their institutions,” says Cisco instructor with ACIT, Celestine Ojikah. He added that the weeklong training is one of the prerequisites of Cisco-certified instructors. There are also IT Essentials to refresh the participants on basic computing. “The exposure and knowledge they will get will prepare them for the Cisco certification.”

Assistant VP of Digital Services, Julius AyukTabe, said the professional training has the potential to change their lives. “If you apply yourself, this might be the change you need for a new direction in your career … a brain-muscle (and determination) is what you need.”

Thirteen of the 20 institutions were represented: Federal Polytechnic, Mubi; Federal College of Education, Yola; AUN Academy; Taraba Business School; College of Education, Azare; Kaduna State Institute of Technology & Management; Taraba State University; Learn IT Academy; Government Science & Technical College, Anyi; Federal University, Wukari; Adamawa State Polytechnic; Federal Polytechnic, Mubi, and Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola.

Leave a Comment